Bonjour! I’m Going to Paris…

…in 4 months, not like, next week or anything… still plenty of time to mentally pack and repack the luggage and it will probably take me the entire 16 weeks to find the right shoes to take for both comfort and style so as not to be laughed at by superior taste Parisian types (everyone in France).

I haven’t been to France since I was… um, 19?  19!  So, 10 years ago… haha, no of course, it’s been over 20 years and the last time I was there I was backpacking all over the place on about a $4 a day budget and having the time of my damn young life.  I was on Le Grand Tour.  Or, is it La Tour Grand?  Never mind.  I don’t plan on speaking French while I am over there although my friend, who graciously invited me to join her on this most festive vacances, does parlez as does her father who will be over there at a L’ecole de la Langue but I know my limits and I have no desire to piss off the natives by butchering their most beautiful and sophisticated language.  I may acquire a British accent just so I sound more refined, but that is as far as I’m going… I am all about the relaxed and not le travail.

This trip will be most interessant because although I have been to Paris several times with my family and of course, the aforementioned backpacking adventure, I haven’t been as an adult and I look forward to spending time getting to know the City of Lights as a grown up… to nosing about old shops and cafes and sitting around eavesdropping on conversations I cannot understand… maybe find a treasure or two to bring home…

This will also be the first trip I have taken away from my family.  I’ve done “girls weekends” in Palm Springs and New York and I have traveled with the children without Hugh, but this is a week away from both my husband and my children… and yes, it makes me a teeny bit weepy… but mostly it makes me nervous… a week without my defining parts? A week where, although a wife and mother in name and via Skype, most certainly not in action… weird!

Have you taken Le Grand Tour (I’ve decided that sounds better) sans les enfants et sans le mari?  Advice?

January 5, 2010. Uncategorized.

6 Comments

  1. Jen replied:

    Wow, I am so envious. (But in a good way, I promise.) That’s going to be an amazing trip.

    No, I’ve never traveled without my family. In fact, if I go to BlogHer this summer, that will be most I’ve managed alone in 12 years.

  2. kkfast replied:

    Jen – I would love to make it to BlogHer if only to meet you and SarahO in person… but, not only am I winging my way to Paris in April, I’m going to Bali and Cambodia in May… I think a trip to NY for a weekend might just be pushing it!

  3. Shell replied:

    Yes, I used to travel …back when I had a corporate job and Gille was an enfant petit. It is weird leaving. but once the “logistics for running their world and ensuring their well-being” are all worked out and you’re on that plane, you’ll get a nice sense of “ahhhh.”

    You guys are going to have a blast. Can’t wait to read about it and live vicariously through your posts.

  4. kkfast replied:

    Shell – I’ll just leave EvaJun in charge and all will be well!

  5. JodiK replied:

    Not only have I not taken an extended vacation away from my family, I have not taken an extended vacation with my family!

  6. Stephanie replied:

    AKKK, I’m so jealous! I’ve never even been to Paris but it is on the top of my places to see before I die list! Can I tag along? 🙂

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

